Priya Sara Mathur

Chair, Health Benefits Committee
CalPERS Board of Administration



Priya Sara Mathur was elected to the California Public Employees’ Retirement System (CalPERS) Board of Administration in January 2003 to represent public agency members.  She was reelected in 2007 to serve a second term, which expires January 15, 2011.

Ms. Mathur was the first woman elected to the CalPERS Board in 40 years and its youngest member ever. She is also the first Indian-American to hold statewide office. 

Ms. Mathur serves as Chair of the Health Benefits Committee and as Vice Chair of both the Investment Committee the Performance and Compensation Committee, as well as a member of several other Board committees.

Ms. Mathur sits on the boards of several non-profit organizations.  She chairs the Program Committee of the Pacific Pension Institute, an educational organization which assists pension funds and other investment institutions worldwide with carrying out their fiduciary responsibilities, especially with respect to Asia and the Pacific region.   

In addition, Ms. Mathur serves on the National Advisory Council for the Institute for Governmental Studies (IGS), the University of California’s primary center for interdisciplinary research in politics, government, and public policy; the Executive Council and Champions’ Circle for Astia, an international platform for women entrepreneurs building technology-driven businesses; and on the Advisory Board for Hispanic Net, a network for Hispanic entrepreneurs.

Ms. Mathur speaks across the country and internationally on a range of topics, including pension security, health care reform, corporate governance, socially responsible investing, and investing in developing countries.

Ms. Mathur received her Master's degree in Business Administration from the Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, and a Bachelor's degree in Economics and Literature from Connecticut College.  She is also a member of the American Federation of State and Municipal Public Employees (AFSCME) Union.